The First Deputy Prime Minister and Minster of East African Community Affairs in Uganda, Speaker Emeritus of the 9th and 10th Parliament of Uganda Rt. Hon | Dr. Alitwala Rebecca Kadaga (MP) together with the council of Ministers endorsed the admission of Democratic Republic of Congo into the Regional Block.soon after the council of ministers meeting ended, Rt. Hon Alitwala Rebecca Kadaga said “Have just been part of the historic decision to recommend to the Summit of the Heads of State, the admission of the Democratic Republic of Congo to the East African Community.


The East African Block currently comprises of 6 Member Sates thats Burundi, Kenya Tanzania, Rwanda Republic of South Sudan and Uganda. with now the endorsement of Democratic Republic of Congo the East African Block which awaits for the 6 Presidents of the East Africa Block for approval. DRC will be the 7th partner state.


The East African Community is the regional intergovernmental organisation of the Republics of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Republic of Burundi and Republic of Rwanda with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. The realization of a large regional economic bloc encompassing Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda with a combined population of 120 million people, land area of 1.85 million sq kilometres and a combined gross domestic product of $ 41 billion, bears great strategic and geopolitical significance and prospects of a renewed and reinvigorated East African Community.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *