Common Market

The Common Market represents the second pillar of the EAC regional integration process (as defined by the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community), following the Customs Union, which became full-fledged in January 2010. It was signed by the Heads of States on 30th November 2009, coinciding with the 10th Anniversary celebrations of the revived EAC. It entered into force on 1 July 2010, following ratification by all the five partners States: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda. The establishment of the East African Community Common Market is in line with Article 76 of the EAC Treaty.

It provides for four Freedoms of movement for all the factors of production and two Rights between themselves. These Freedoms and Rights include:

  • Free Movement of Goods
  • Free Movement of Persons
  • Free Movement of Labour / Workers
  • Right of Establishment
  • Right of Residence
  • Free Movement of Services
  • Free Movement of Capital