Mrs. Edith Mwanje

Permanent Secretary, Ministry of East African Community Affairs

Mrs. Edith Nsajja Mwanje is the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of EAC Affairs, a post she has held with diligence since 2007 to date. During her time at the EAC, Mrs. Mwanje has championed the EAC integration process having chaired the EAC Coordination Committee.

During her Tenure, the Ministry has successfully organised and delivered very high-level events including the First Tripartite EAC/SADC/COMESA Summit (2008) which led to signing of the Agreement establishing a Tripartite Free Trade Area among COMESA, EAC and SADC; The 3rd EAC Investment Conference (2010) that resolved to market the EAC as a single investment destination, 11th Summit of EAC Heads of State (2007) that gave a general direction to the development and achievements of the objectives of the Treaty; and called for an in-depth sensitisation of the citizens of EAC Partner States on the EAC Integration agenda; 15th Summit of EAC Heads of State (2013) that approved and signed the EAC Protocol Establishing the Monetary Union and Directed for the implementation of the Single Customs Territory to start on 1st January 2014; and 19th Ordinary Summit of EAC Heads of State (2018) which endorsed Nine (9) key investment health priority areas and prioritised the development of a competitive domestic textile and leather sector;. among many others.

She has led her team in the development of the National Policy on EAC Integration which has become an overarching framework that guides implementation of the EAC agenda in the Country.

With the admission of the Democratic Republic of Congo by the 19th Ordinary Summit of EAC Heads of State and becoming a full member of the East African Community on 11th July 2022, Mrs. Mwanje was part of the Ugandan delegation comprising business people and technocrats who visited the DRC to identify opportunities for Ugandan businesses.

Mrs. Mwanje is the Chairperson of the National Oversight Committee of Trademark East Africa (TMEA). Under her stewardship TMEA has constructed seven (7) One Stop Border Posts in Uganda at Busia, Malaba, Mutukula, Elegu, Katuna, Mirama Hills and Goli border posts and supported a number of trade facilitation initiatives, enhancing the quality of Border infrastructure and Customs Management systems.

Previously, Mrs. Mwanje served in the Ministry of Defence as Director Defence Reform Secretariat (2002-2007) and Under Secretary Finance and Administration (1999-2002). During this time, she was part of the team that spearheaded the Defence Transformation Review in Uganda. She further developed, implemented and monitored Uganda’s Defence Corporate Plan, and coordinated the preparation of the Defence Budget. These skills in coordination and communication led her to be entrusted with promoting Uganda’s interests as Permanent Secretary with the Ministry of East African Community Affairs.

Mrs. Mwanje is a key player within Ugandan Professional and Civil Society. She was on the Steering Committee of the African Security Sector Network (ASSN) representing East and Central Region 2005-2007. Since 2005 she has held the position of Secretary of the Uganda Chapter of the African Centre for Strategic Studies (ACSS), and was Chairperson of the Council for Economic Empowerment of Women in Africa (CEEWA-U) from 2003 to 2006.

Between 1994 and 1999 she served as Deputy Executive Director in Uganda Manufacturers’ Association. Before that, she worked with the Civil Service of Uganda as Principal Economist, Senior Economist and Economist (1982-1994).

Born in 1958, she holds a Master’s degree in Economic Policy and Planning from North Eastern University Boston, USA; and has an outstanding record through her years of work with Government, Private and Civil Society sectors.